MOGADISHU, 16 March 2021 – Somalia and Ethiopia are the latest African countries to be added to a list of countries facing a COVID-related travel ban.

London said the goal of the ban is to “reduce the risk of new variants” of the new coronavirus entering the United Kingdom (UK).

Arrivals Banned from Many African Countries - Photo DNA India

Arrivals banned from many African countries – Photo DNA India

Not Everyone is Welcomed to the UK Border Sign - Photo Euronews

Not everyone is welcomed to the UK border Sign – Photo Euronews

The ban is for all travel to the UK originating from Somalia and Ethiopia; whatever the nationality of the traveler.

“Only British and Irish citizens, or those with residence rights will be allowed to enter and must stay in a government-approved facility for ten days,” a statement from the UK Department for Transport said.

The ban went into force  last Friday beginning at 4 A.M. GMT, according to the statement.

No Arrivals from Many African Countries - Phot CNN

No arrivals into the UK accepted for travelers coming from 13 African countries – Photo CNN

Somalia and Ethiopia joined the list as the UK removed Mauritius from it, satisfied that officials in Port Louis have a handle on the pandemic.

Here’s the full list of African countries from which travel to the UK cannot originate: Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Cape Verde, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles and South Africa.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team. This month, a reverting one on one interview with the Chairman on African Affairs at IMF

You have Successfully Subscribed!