New UN Security Council Members Voted

NEW YORK, USA, 14 JUNE 2018 – The General Assembly of the United Nations on Friday elected Germany, Belgium, South Africa, the Dominican Republic and Indonesia for a two-year term in the Security Council starting on January 1, 2019.

The Security Council can make legally binding decisions and has powers to impose sanctions and authorize the use of force to win peace, including ordering the deployment of UN Peacekeepers.

All but Indonesia ran unopposed. The vote splitting Indonesia and the Maldives as representative of Asia-Pacific on the Security Council went 144 to 46 in favor of Indonesia, the world’s biggest Muslim-majority country.

Germany received 184 votes, Belgium had 181, South Africa got 183, and the Dominican Republic had 184 after one round of voting. Regional groups generally agree upon the candidates to put forward and competitive races are increasingly rare.

In a typical year, the UN General Assembly elects five new members of the Security Council who join five elected the previous year and the five permanent members with veto power: the USA, Britain, France, China and Russia.

The five members who will be giving up their seats at the end of the ear are Bolivia, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, the Netherlands and Sweden.

The five seats not up for election until the end of 2019 are Cote d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Kuwait, Peru and Poland.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team. This month, a reverting one on one interview with the Chairman on African Affairs at IMF

You have Successfully Subscribed!