LONDON, 30 January 2021 – The UK government on Thursday added Burundi and Rwanda to its travel ban establish to stem the spread of new COVID-19 strains.

The ban, effective Friday, applies to all travelers coming from or who have transited through Burundi, Rwanda and the United Arab Emirates.

The most recent cases of the South African strain of the COVID-19 virus were these three countries.

International Arrivals at Heathrow - Photo The East African

International Arrivals at Heathrow – Photo The East African

Anyone who has visited any of these countries over the past ten days will also not be granted entry to the UK.

Rwanda is expected to host the 26th Commonwealth Heads of government Meeting (CHOgM) due to hold in Kigali in June 2021.

The biannual event was already postponed last year on account of the virus.

Kigali has been on lockdown for eleven days as authorities struggle to stem the spread of the virus.

Rwanda has recorded 14,529 cases of COVID-19 with 186 fatalities and 9,234 full recoveries.

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team. This month, a reverting one on one interview with the Chairman on African Affairs at IMF

You have Successfully Subscribed!