South Africa on New Year Day started its two-year term on the 15-member United Nations Security Council.

Four other countries – Belgium, Germany, Indonesia and the Dominican Republic – debuted at the same time on the Council whose rotating presidency is held for one month by each member.

Bolivia, Ethiopia, the Netherlands, Kazakhstan and Sweden completed their two-year terms at the close of 2018.

Only China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States of America are permanent members, with veto power.

Non-permanent members are elected by the 193-member General Assembly for the two-year staggered terms allocated by global regions.

[Incoming non-permanent Security Council representatives. Photo, courtesy CGTN]

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team. This month, a reverting one on one interview with the Chairman on African Affairs at IMF

You have Successfully Subscribed!