The United Nations Security Council closed the year by imposing sanctions against three leaders of armed groups in Mali’s volatile northern regions.

The three are accused of violating a 2015 peace accord.

Mohamed Ousmane Ag Mohamedoune, the Secretary General of the Coalition for the People of Azawad, is among the three sanctioned. The other two are Ahmoudou Ag Asriw of the Imghad Tuareg Self-Defense Group and Allies, along with Mamadou Ag Rhissa, a businessman and member of the High Council for Unity of Azawad.

It is the first time the Security Council has slapped sanctions on individuals since the world body adopted a general sanctions regime in 2017.

[Picture courtesy of the official website of the Malian government]

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team. This month, a reverting one on one interview with the Chairman on African Affairs at IMF

You have Successfully Subscribed!